elenniel: (shadow queen)
[personal profile] elenniel
Making wallpapers ain't easy. (Okay, well, sometimes it is, but generally it isn't. :P )

Take, for example, my most recent attempts at making new wallpapers. Even with 2.62GB of Arashi images, it's still difficult to find the perfect image. Yes, you read it right. 2.62GB. Of jpegs. HQ jpegs. Those from Loze and arashi.vox and [profile] boys_paper are especially high-quality - average filesize is about 2MB. I spent over an hour yesterday renaming most of the files so the date formats would sync and it'd be easier if I ever decided to perform a search based on the magazine shoot dates. (Batch Filename Editor is another godsent piece software.)

The thing is... Even with so many pictures of good quality. A lot of them are "flawed" - at least when you look at them from a wallpaper designer's point of view. ("Wallpaper designer" sounds so much better than "wallpaper-maker", no? :P I think I'm entitled to use it, since I'm in the design industry anyway. Hahahah! Gosh that sounds so "perasan" - ie. "full of myself" XP )

Let me bother enlighten you with the major examples.

1. Boring Pose.

I don't quite like it when all they do is just stand there. Like a pole. Doing absolutely nothing. Just standing and staring at the camera. It's... Boring. Might be easier to crop the figure out, but there's no point to it. It's like having a particularly blank-faced paper doll. Actually, even paper dolls have more interesting poses...

2. Inconvenient text.

This is rather common. I'll have these gorgeous pics, but then there'll be the magazine article text tattooed all over. Minor amounts is fine - I can fix that easily. Even large amounts are fine - IF the sections the text crosses is not full of highlights and shadows. Even 6 years of Photoshop experience (I sound like Horio now...) has its limits. More importantly, my patience has limits. If I was free enough with nothing to do, then I might sit down and slowly patch up pics like the above one. This particular pic isn't impossible. It's just too time-consuming.

3. Overly complex backgrounds.

Not a necessarily impossible task, but, like I just said, too time-consuming. If the hairstyle is spiky and all over the place then... I usually just don't bother anymore. Hahah! Things like trees, other people and well, basically anything other than a plain backdrop will be rather a pain to edit. I normally only attempt cropping if the pic is just too irresistable or if I'm too free  :P

4. Facial expressions.

THIS... Argh. This is painfully common - especially with Arashi. I can have the lovelist plain background - ideal for cropping - or the nicest setups, butttttttt... What do they do? They frown/sulk/stare at the camera in the most aggravating way. Particularly common in solo photos for Arashi. (Guys, can't you smile a bit when it's a solo pic?) Like the above set. The only one just barely cracking a smile is Aiba. Sho's frowning at the camera like he doesn't want to be photographed, Ohno's staring blankly (as usual), Jun's midway between a moody stare and a frown, and Nino's... Kinda blank too. I could shake them. Or their art director. What's the big idea with the sullen expressions?? I wouldn't feel happy looking at my desktop if Sho was staring me down like that... -_-

And there you have it. My personal top four grievances with images when it comes to making wallpapers. :P They may be really nice to just look at, but usage... Oh well.


Now, since I have the time, I'm off to make more wallpapers! XD

Date: 2007-10-26 04:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] windyhurrice.livejournal.com
*ROFLHAO @ Facial Expressions*

OMG how true can that be!? XD
I'm trying to suppress a laugh within the uni library mwahahaha XD

Can't help it if they frown too much, to the so called professional camera people, they ought to make models do such a thing because either they think it looks cool like that or the whole fan thing likes them like that =P

Date: 2007-10-26 05:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elenniel.livejournal.com
I wonder who it was that decided people look good when they look angry/moody... Once in a while is fine by me, but when half - or maybe more than half - of the shoots come out like that, it drives me nuts. :P

But it is true eh? ^^
I get this problem even with my Shirota pics... And others. =_=

(Glad I amused you with that XD )

Date: 2007-10-26 05:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] windyhurrice.livejournal.com
Well apparently they want to maintain a 'cool' looking image.

What they don't get is that some people look better when scowling or smiling or both XD

They're too keen on selling, promoting etc that they lost what's good from the idols themselves.

Well, good luck in the wallpapers ^^
(i wanna do art too, though my assignments are holding me back - gah~!)

Date: 2007-10-26 05:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] chibichan03.livejournal.com
Pictures like that are common in Japan. For some reason they think that men need to look cool and moody, especially idols. Sometimes it works, but for people like Aiba... I have some good pics of Aiba since I downloaded his Metamorphosis pictures. ^_^
Look forward to seeing your new wallies!

Date: 2007-10-27 07:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elenniel.livejournal.com
(Which Aiba are you referring to - Aiba Masaki or Aiba Hiroki? XD In either case I don't think the sullen look suits them. hahaha)

Date: 2007-10-27 04:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] chibichan03.livejournal.com
Aiba Hiroki. If you ever need pictures from Metamorphosis, I can zip up my files and send it to you. I noticed you have used some of the pictures from the photobook already.

Date: 2007-10-28 12:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elenniel.livejournal.com
Hm, I don't recall having any pics from Metamorphosis. Unless it's that photobook thingy I got from a post by [livejournal.com profile] icydu one time... But it would be nice if you could send me those pics anyway. :D I might be inspired to make new Aibacchi wallpapers XD
(and I so need a way to differentiate Aiba Masaki and Aiba Hiroki when I write in my LJ... -__-" Maybe I'll just use "Aibacchi" for A.Hiroki and "Aiba-chan" for A.Masaki XDD )

Date: 2007-10-28 06:01 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] chibichan03.livejournal.com
Aibacchi definately works for Aiba Hiroki. I'll zip up those files and send them to you.

Date: 2009-06-14 08:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] arashitonews.livejournal.com
This whole post was funny XDD especially the last one about facial expressions xDDD hehehe
I love it when they smile~~ ^___^ the whole staring me down thing... not so much xD lol

Date: 2009-06-14 09:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] elenniel.livejournal.com
XD I'm glad you enjoyed reading it~

They should smile aaaaalll the time in photos!

Date: 2009-06-14 05:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] arashitonews.livejournal.com
I totally agree!!!! Smiles are the best~

Profile

elenniel: (Default)
elenniel

March 2022

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13 141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tags

Custom Text

Style Credit

Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 04:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios